SharePoint Site Error:HTTP Error 503. The service is unavailable.

Last evening I left office with a happy face and today get back to the office; start my SharePoint Dev site and got this crazy error HTTP Error 503. The service is unavailable. I could feel this is just start of a hectic day :-(.

I knew this can happen if SharePoint Application Pool for Central Admin stopped working but I had more thing behind the scene.

Well, If this type of error occurs most of the time it can be resolved by Checking the Application Pools for SharePoint Central Administration v3 and make sure it’s running, If it stopped-just restart it.

In my case though, after restarting App pool didn’t solve my issue. I checked the log and other areas but as usual not much solid information. Suddenly it clicked in my mind about the password to the Identity account. One of the network administration guy created the service account and didn’t set Password Expiration Policy and my Poor Password get Expired. If this happen to you do the following way-it should resolve the issue.

1.  Open up IIS Manager and click on Application Pools.

2.  Locate your App Pool account and right-click on it and select ‘Advanced Settings’.

3.  Click on the right of the Identity box to change it (A window will pop up).

4.  Click on Set and simply retype your App Pool Identity in there with the new password.


This entry was posted in Technical Issue SP2007 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

