AllowAutomaticASPXPageIndexing error while using STSADM -O Import subsite

The STSADM tool allows you to import and export SharePoint sites by specifying STSADM -0 Import and STSADM -o Export. The Import/Export options are ideal for backing up and restoring subsites. This can be very useful command line option to transfer subsites to different environment but might give a serious error. I will explain the scenario below-

Scenario-

I was working on a SharePoint project with three environments (DEV, UAT and PRODUCTION) and five phases of releases. I was working on creating multiple subsites with many document libraries and List. I had to set different level of Document Library and List level permission according to the requirements. Once I finished work with DEV I had to move those sites across UAT for user testing. We had Bamboo calendar on each landing page and few InfoPath form. If I take Stsadm -o backup/restore option I had to spend quality amount of time to reconfigure everything on UAT. So, I took STSADM -o Export/Import option to move across the subsites from DEV to UAT.

ISSUES:

I thought STSADM -o Export/Import is a good option and I can finish my work fast without realising what is waiting for me ahead.

I usestsadm -o export -url <site url> -filename <filename> –includeusersecurityon dev to export the site I wanted to import and it worked perfectly fine.

Then at UAT I use stsadm -o import -url<site URL> -filename <filename.cmp> -includeusersecurity to import and I got “FATAL ERROR-AllowAutomaticASPXPageIndexing”

Solution:

Well, Nothing to freak out. This is WSS 3.o Issue and Microsoft have a “hot fix” to resolve this. Just follow the following steps-

  • Go to this microsoft link “http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;957691
  • Download the hotfix according to yours system (32 or 64 bit)
  • Install the hotfix on the server But Remember to run “SharePoint Products and Technologies Configuration Wizard” right after you apply the hotfix to your server or else your Central Administrator will not work.
  • That’s it.STSADM-o Import should would perfectly fine on your server.
This entry was posted in SharePoint 2007, Technical Issue SP2007. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

